The Christmas Cycle

Advent Season

  • Four Sundays in Advent (blue or purple)

Christmas Season

  • The Nativity of Our Lord (white)
  • First and Second Sundays after Christmas (white)

Epiphany Season

  • The Epiphany of Our Lord (white)
  • The Baptism of Our Lord - First Sunday after the Epiphany (white)
  • Second through Eighth Sundays after the Epiphany (green)       
  • The Transfiguration of Our Lord – Last Sunday after the Epiphany (white)

The Easter Cycle

Lenten Season

  • Ash Wednesday (black or purple)
  • First through Fifth Sundays in Lent (purple)

Holy Week

  • Sunday of the Passion – Palm Sunday (scarlet or purple)
  • Monday through Wednesday (scarlet or purple)

The Three Days

  • Maundy Thursday (scarlet or white)
  • Good Friday (no paraments)
  • Vigil of Easter (white)

Easter Season

  • The Resurrection of Our Lord – Easter Day (gold or white)
  • Second through Seventh Sundays of Easter (white)
  • The Ascension of Our Lord (white)
  • The Day of Pentecost (red)

The Time of the Church

Season after Pentecost

  • The Holy Trinity – First Sunday after Pentecost (white)
  • Second through Twenty-seventh Sundays after Pentecost (green)
  • Christ the King – Last Sunday after Pentecost (white)


Other days of interest:

Reformation Sunday